New user experience

Apr 26, 2011 at 7:44 AM

So obviously I'm new to Balder.  I figured you guys would value feedback about the new user experience since it's so important to attracting additional OSS contributors, so here are my thoughts with trying to get started.

First, some background.  I'm an experienced developer with quite a few years experience with C#, mainly in automation and tools dev.  However, I'm new to Silverlight and XNA, and not particularly experienced (quite rusty) with writing 3D code.  I'm going to be evaluating Balder for use in a small level-editor type app I want to develop quickly, in hoping not to have to do much of the low level 3D engine stuff myself.  (So far, looks promising.)  I decided to pull the code in case there are contributions I'd like to make as I go about it, and prefer working with project references over DLL references in general anyway.

* Codeplex Home tab: The "Project Description" spends too much time in the "sell this to me" space on mythology and not enough time describing what the project is.  This sentance could also use some rewording to avoid sounding like the purpose of Balder itself is just to provide documentation:  "The goal for Balder is to provide an extensive Documentation..."

* Also on the Home tab: the Rubik's cube and 2 of the Samplebrowser links are dead, in and just under the table of contents, respectively.

* It's not obvious where the "documentation" is.  The codeplex Documentation tab is where I expected to find at least some useful documentation, but instead it mentions a .chm file but doesn't even mention where to find it.  Is it only included w/the download package and not in the source control?

* The second place one might expect some helpful documentation would be that "readme" sitting in the root directory.  Hmm, not even a .txt extension to make it easy to open in modern operating systems?  Anyway, seems to be blank unless Hg screwed it up somehow.