Odd behavior with textured box under camera

Oct 19, 2010 at 3:38 AM
Edited Oct 19, 2010 at 4:04 AM
First let me say, this project is amazing. I can’t believe how awesome and fun this is to work with. I understand it’s a work in progress, and that my understanding of 3d world building is very limited. I’ll keep that this is a work in progress in mind if everyone here keeps in mind I’m pretty new to 3d programming :)

My question is about the camera and a 3d box position. Here is the XAML (you’ll need your own texture.
NOTE: Texture is 32x32 (really small)

<Execution:Game x:Name="Game" Width="1024" Height="768" >
            <Execution:Game.Camera>
                <View:Camera x:Name="GameCamera" Position="-28,20,-146" Target="-8,20,-90"/>
            </Execution:Game.Camera>

<Lighting:OmniLight  Position="0,100,-60" Diffuse="White"/>
            <Lighting:ViewLight   Diffuse="#FFFFFFFF"/>

<Geometries:Box  Dimension="300,5,300" Position="0,-10,0">
                <Geometries:Box.Material>
                    <Materials:Material DiffuseMap="/SilverlightApplication2;component/Images/Grass.png" />
                </Geometries:Box.Material>
            </Geometries:Box>

</Execution:Game>
Notice that only half of the box is rendered (the top of one face)
Change the camera to this: 
<View:Camera x:Name="GameCamera" Position="-61,20,-225" Target="-38,20,-170"/>

Now the entire box is shown, but the camera is not on top of it.

What causes this?

Oct 19, 2010 at 4:09 AM
Edited Oct 19, 2010 at 4:14 AM

Instead of the large 300x300 box under the camera I tried to tile 20x20 tiles under the camera, I tiled 300 of them, or a grid 15x15. They seem to render fine with the camera at the same positions as in the code above.

It looks like my problem is from the large 300x300 box. But why would a large box work differently than the smaller ones. I’d rather use the larger one since it’s a lot less points to work with. 8 vs 2400 if I’m doing my math correctly.