Camera Rotation Around Objects

Sep 28, 2010 at 8:44 PM

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to learn how to use Balder within Silverlight.  Basically, I want to have a group of objects and be able to rotate a camera around the objects and zoom on the objects.  The example I found was in the Sample browser code for view->CameraManipulation.  When you run the sample and change the X Axis, at about 90 the camera flips.  I searched the discussion area and found a reference to this issue:  http://balder.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=72711

In the discussion thread a possible solution was to add this code:
    var up = Vector.Normalize(Camera.Target - Camera.Position);
    Camera.Up = up;

I tried to add it but it did not work.  I have been searching for the last 2 days but have not found a solution.  I believe that the function below requires some code but I have no idea how to fix this behavior to allow full rotation (vertical and horizontal) and zooming so the camera can fly around the objects.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

private void CalculateCameraPosition()
{
  var rotationX = Matrix.CreateRotationX((float)_xSlider.Value);
  var rotationY = Matrix.CreateRotationY((float)_ySlider.Value);

var combined = rotationX * rotationY;
  var forward = Vector.Forward;
  var zoomedForward = forward * (float)_zoomSlider.Value;
  var position = zoomedForward * combined;

var target = new Vector((float)_game.Camera.Target.X,
                        (float)_game.Camera.Target.Y,
                        (float)_game.Camera.Target.Z);
  var actualPosition = target - position;

_game.Camera.Position.X = actualPosition.X;
  _game.Camera.Position.Y = actualPosition.Y;
  _game.Camera.Position.Z = actualPosition.Z; 

//    var up = Vector.Normalize(Camera.Target - Camera.Position);
//    Camera.Up = up;

}

Coordinator
Sep 29, 2010 at 6:02 PM

Hi,

you might be able to achieve the same with a different approach.